Central Board of Irrigation and Power Central Board of Irrigation and Power - An ISO 9001 - 2000 Company Eight Decades of Service to the Nation
International Geosynthetics Society (India)

Governing Body

The Executive Board of the International Geosynthetics Society (India) consists of President, elected by the General Assembly, Vice-President (Civil) of the CBIP as Vice President and 16 members elected from the institutional and individual members of the Chapter. The Secretary of the CBIP acts as Member Secretary, and is the Chief Executive of the Chapter. The term of the Executive Board is two years and elected members are not eligible for more than two consecutive terms. Following is the present composition of the Executive Board:


Dr. G. Venkatappa Rao
Honorary Professor
Department of Civil Engineering
University College of Engineering
Osmania University


Vice-President (Civil) of CBIP

Immediate Past President:

Dr. D.G. Kadkade
Chief Adviser
Jaiprakash Associates Limited


Mr. Atanu Adhikari
Manager (Designs)
Reinforced Earth India Pvt. Ltd.

Mr. Pradip Dutta

Mr. G. Ete
Chief Engineer
Water Resources Department
Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh

*Mr. S. Jaswant Kumar
Joint Director (EV)
Public Works Department
Government of Andhra Pradesh

Mr. Anant Kanoi
Partner, Techfab India

Dr. K. Rajagopal
Department of Civil Engineering
IIT Madras

Dr. G.V.V.S. Raju
Chief Engineer (NABARD)
Roads & Buildings Department
Govt. of Andhra Pradesh

Mr. T. Sanyal
Geotechnical Advisor
Jute Manufactures Dev. Council

Mr. Samiran Sen
Executive Director (T)
Consulting Engineering Services (I) Pvt. Ltd.

Mr. M. Sudhakaran Pillai
Joint Director, Coir Board
Central Institute of Coir Technology, Bangalore

Mr. M. Venkataraman
Garware-Wall Ropes Ltd.
Geosynthetics Division

Representative of Satluj Jal Vidyut Nigam Ltd.
(Nomination awaited)

Member Secretary:

Central Board of Irrigation and Power
(Presently Mr. V.K. Kanjlia)

Director (WR)
Central Board of Irrigation & Power
(Presently Mr. A.C. Gupta)

* Subject to joining as member

Associated Bodies
World Water Council International Society for Rock Mechanics (INDIA) AITES World Tunnel Congress International Association on Electricity Generation, Transmission and Distribution International Geosynthetics Society (India). Society of Power Engineers (India) International Council on Large Electric Systems International Association for Small Hydro International Water Resources Association International Commission on Large Dams